Join us as One Book One Barrington returns this April!
Featuring A Path Appears: Transforming Lives, Creating Opportunities by acclaimed authors Sheryl WuDunn and Nicholas Kristof.

Stories inspire: take a global journey and discover the creative ways by which people are making a difference. Find insights, motivation, and practical advice on how you can do the same. Join us all month as we spotlight initiatives – local, national, and worldwide – that transform.

Complete details in our Check It Out newsletter.

Book Discussions:

A Path Appears is available as a digital download or in the Book Club Collection on the second floor. Register for the book discussion of your choice, using the links below - please come share your thoughts with the community!

Sunday, April 8, 2 PM, Meeting Room

Monday, April 9, 7 PM, The Loft at McGonigal’s, 105 S. Cook Street

Wednesday, April 25, 7 PM, Meeting Room

Read the book, then find inspiration in our program series.

APATHAPP: A Philanthropic Area Treasure Hunt And Photo Project
Monday, April 2 - Monday, April 16
More details coming soon!

Volunteer at Any Age – Featuring the Peace Corps
Wednesday, April 4, 7 PM
Register. Meeting Room.

Mane in Heaven – Miniature therapy horses
Saturday, April 7, 2 PM
Register. Meeting Room.

In Concert: Chicago Sinfonietta’s Project Inclusion Ensemble
Friday, April 13, 7:30 PM
Register. Meeting Room.

Empowering Change for the Disabled – Featuring We Are Able
Saturday, April 14, 2 PM
Register. Zimmerman Room.

Volunteer Match – Discover local volunteer opportunities
Sunday April 15, 2 - 4 PM
Drop in. Meeting Room.

At Ease: Veterans Explore, Create, and Restore in Nature
Wednesday, April 18, 7 PM
Register. Meeting Room.

April 2018: visit our Gallery in the Library to see artwork created by veterans in the At Ease program.

A Force of Nature: Earth Day Observations – Featuring Bartlett Tree Experts and the Solar House
Sunday, April 22, 1 - 4 PM
Drop in. Citizens Park, South Pavilion, Lake Zurich Road, Barrington.

Equine Therapy with Walk On Farm
Friday, April 27, 2 PM
Register. Walk On Farm, 26665 W. Cuba Road, Barrington.

Islam in the World Presentation Series– Presented by experts from the Center for Middle Eastern Studies at the University of Chicago.

The Historical Origins of Islam and Islamic Civilization Monday, April 16, 7 PM
Register. Meeting Room.

Media Representations and Negative Stereotypes of Islam, Muslims, and the Middle East
Monday, April 23, 7 PM
Register. Meeting Room.

Women in Islam: Myths and Realities
Monday, April 30, 7 PM
Register. Meeting Room.